Skip to main content

Undergraduate Awards

For information on any of the opportunities listed on this page, please contact:

WVU Department of English
PO Box 6296
Morgantown, WV 26506-6296
Tel: 304-293-3107

  • Appalachian Writing Award

This contest is open to all undergraduate students at WVU who grew up in Appalachia, which includes all of West Virginia, and whose work is set in Appalachia. The student will receive a scholarship to the West Virginia Writers’ Workshop, which features writers of national reputation and is held in July of each year in Morgantown. This contest is funded by writer Dwight Harshbarger.

  • Captain William Neely Award for Outstanding Sophomore

This contest is open to all sophomore students.

  • James Paul Brawner Expository Writing Contest

Upon Dr. Brawner’s retirement in 1972, the Department established this award in his honor. Dr. Brawner served as department chair for 18 years.

  • Jon Scott Nelson Freshman Creative Writing Award

This award was established by Dr. and Mrs. Ralph E. Nelson in memory of their son, Jon Scott Nelson. Contributions have been made by friends, relatives, and classmates.

  • Jon Scott Nelson Freshman Writing Award

In 1992, Dr. and Mrs. Nelson established the additional contest for student papers from English 101.

  • Professional Writing and Editing Award

This contest is open to all students enrolled in undergraduate Professional Writing and Editing courses.

  • Russell MacDonald Creative Writing Award

This contest was established in 1991 to honor Russ MacDonald upon his retirement.

  • Waitman Barbe Creative Writing Awards

This contest honors former English faculty member Waitman Barbe, a published writer and poet who served on the faculty from 1895 until his death in 1925.