Skip to main content

Sigma Tau Delta

What is Sigma Tau Delta?

A member of the National Association of College Honor Societies, Sigma Tau Delta was founded in 1924 and currently has over 700 chapters worldwide. Members of Sigma Tau Delta participate in literary events and service projects of their own design. Members are eligible to apply for a scholarship offered by the national organization, and may attend international meetings of Sigma Tau Delta. Students involved with Sigma Tau Delta can also put their membership on their resumé when applying for work, grants and fellowships.

In order to be invited to join the Alpha Xi Chapter and to wear Sigma Tau Delta’s scarlet and black satin honors cords at graduation, a student must have a 3.5 cumulative average in English undergraduate or graduate courses and must be an English graduate student or an English or English/Education major or an English minor.  Those who join the Alpha Xi Chapter make their mark on WVU and its Department of English and become life-long members of the International English Honor Society Sigma Tau Delta. Every Fall, those who are eligible are invited to become members. For more information, contact Anna Elfenbein, Faculty Sponsor of the Alpha Xi chapter (

Sigma Tau Delta Celebrates Its Fortieth Anniversary

Group Picture

In 2016-2017, the Department of English’s Alpha Xi Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta celebrated its fortieth anniversary.  At its October initiation, Presidents Elana Zambori, Krislin Nuzum, and Meredith Ramella inducted thirty-three new members who pledged to advance the study of literature, to promote the mastery of written expression, and to foster a spirit of fellowship among students of English language and literature. 

During 2016-2017, the Alpha Xi Chapter celebrated Banned Book Week in the Fall and the Colors of Love, African-American Read-In, in the Spring and nominated and selected the English Department’s Outstanding Professor.  The winner of the members’ vote, Professor Katy Ryan, was announced at the department’s Honors Luncheon in April and had her name engraved on the plaque that hangs on the wall of the central stairway of Colson Hall.

 2016-2017 Members:

Paige Adams
Ann Marie Kennell
Rebekah Shepherd
Erica Ackerman
Kelly Lemasters
Sarah Christine Sidwell
Brooke Elizabeth Cottrill
Sara McQueen
Kyle C. Sponaugle
Chad Cowell
Mariah Morris
Joshua T. Stuart
Micaela Edman
Alexandra Nagy
Melanie Swisher
Arianna Frisina
Pamela N. Nestor
Victoria R. Terrio
Karlee M. Good
David Phares
Christopher Michael Urban
Jessica Hamon
Lauren Pizzurro
Hallie Van Camp
Abigail Madden Harman
Haleigh Posey
Cody Wells Walker
Kaley Hensley
Deni Remsberg
Avery Scott Williamson
MaTia Hughes
McKenzie Robinson


Elana Zambori, Initiation President


McKenzie Robinson, new member 2016-17, receiving Sigma Tau Delta pin from Sigma Tau Delta Faculty Fellow Professor Dale P. Olson of WVU College of Law


Kyle C. Sponaugle, new member 2016-17, receiving Sigma Tau Delta pin from Sigma Tau Delta Faculty Fellow Professor Dale P. Olson of WVU College of Law


Marsha Bissett, Administrative Assistant, supports our programming efforts.