Skip to main content


Sigma Tau Delta Inducts Forty-Five New Members


In 2018-2019, the Department of English’s Alpha Xi Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta continued to serve its membership and the organization under the leadership of its Presidents John Bonham, Anna Schles, Kevin Duvall, and Madison Casimir, and its Faculty Fellows Professors Nancy Caronia and Dale P. Olson, and its Faculty Advisor Anna Elfenbein.

At a ceremony in November, with Initiation President John Bonham presiding, the chapter inducted forty-five new members who pledged to advance the study of literature, to promote the mastery of written expression, and to foster a spirit of fellowship among students of English language and literature.

In the Fall, the Alpha Xi Chapter’s Banned Book Week program, paid tribute to the 200th anniversary of the publication of Mary Wollstonecraft’s Frankenstein and the publication in 2018 by McFarland of our own Amy Williams Wilson’s The Bite, The Breast and the Blood: Why Modern Vampire Stories Suck Us In.  

In the Spring, the chapter celebrated Black History Month with an African-American Read-In. It nominated and selected the English Department’s Outstanding Professor,  Dr. Rosemary Hathaway.    Professor Hathaway’s name is inscribed on the Sigma Tau Delta plaque on the stairway to Colson Hall’s second floor.  Remarking on the fact that Dr. Hathaway has won the award before, Professor Brian Ballentine, the Department Chair, quipped that she has become a two-plaquer. 

2018-2019 Members:

Muhammad Manzur Alam Amelia Jones Maria Pomales
Samantha Barney Malina Judd Dustin Purvis
Andrea Barnhouse Sarah Majestro Melissa Reynolds
Eric Casdorph Michaela Martin Hannah Rubenstein
Mylana Chico Hannah McCall Courtney Samans
Josiah Cork Aerianna McClanahan Jessica Siela Kendall
Lakin Davis April McGinnis Snee Abbey Stephan
Samsher Dhaliwal Taylor Morgan Isabella Tennant
John Fox Samuel Neil Caroline Toler
Ana Galvez Shana Nelson Madison Urse
Angelyn Gemmen Jordan Niedoba Zachary White
Samantha Gilmore Adison Nordstrom Logan Wotring
Amanda Griffith Brenna O'Connor
Jacob Haynes Emily Pauley
Makenzie Hudson Alexandra Persad

Dr. Anna Elfenbein, Faculty Advisor; Madison Casimir, Honors President; Anna Schles, Fall Program President; Kevin Duvall, Spring Program President; John Bonham, Initiation President

Muhammad Manzur Alam, English PhD student, receiving his STD pin

Aerianna McClanahan, English major, receiving her STD pin

Jacob Haynes, English Education major, receiving his STD pin

Angelyn Gemmen, English minor, receiving her STD pin

Banned Books
Banned Book Week flyer

Anna and AmyCake
Anna Schles, Fall Program President, and Amy Williams Wilson, author of The Bite, The Breast, and The Blood

Amy and book
Amy and her book jacket

Info-Station Promo for the African American Read-In

Spring Program President, Kevin Duval, presiding at the Read-In